Comparing classification systems for abnormal Pap tests

Classification systems for abnormal Pap test
WHO* Dysplasia System Cervical Intraepithelial Neoplasia (CIN) The Bethesda System

Normal (benign)

Normal (benign)

Normal (benign)

Benign with inflammation

Not reported in CIN

Infection and atypical squamous cells (ASC), which includes ASC of undetermined significance (ASC-US) and ASC that cannot exclude high-grade squamous intraepithelial lesions (HSIL) (ASC-H)

Dysplasia (mild)


Low-grade squamous intraepithelial lesions (LSIL)

Dysplasia (moderate to severe)

CIN 2, CIN 3

High-grade squamous intraepithelial lesions (HSIL)

Carcinoma in situ


High-grade squamous intraepithelial lesions (HSIL)

Invasive cancer

Invasive cancer

Squamous cell cancer

* World Health Organization

Last Updated: January 5, 2009

related physicians

related services

Bon Secours International| Sisters of Bon Secours USA| Bon Secours Health System

This information does not replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise disclaims any warranty or liability for your use of this information. Your use of this information means that you agree to the Terms of Use. Privacy Policy. How this information was developed to help you make better health decisions.

© 1995-2010 Healthwise, Incorporated. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated.