Stages of bladder cancer

Picture of the stages of bladder cancer

Stages 0 and I bladder cancer are considered noninvasive, meaning cancer is found only in the lining of the bladder (urothelium) or in the connective tissue below the lining (lamina propria) but has not spread to the bladder muscle.

Stages II, III, and IV bladder cancer are considered invasive, meaning cancer has spread to the bladder muscle, the fatty tissue outside the muscle, and to the pelvic or abdominal wall (peritoneum). Stage IV bladder cancer can include cancer that has spread (metastasized) from the bladder to other places in the body such as the lungs, liver, or bones.

Last Updated: May 13, 2009

Medical Review: E. Gregory Thompson, MD - Internal Medicine & Christopher G. Wood, MD, FACS - Urology/Oncology

related physicians

related services

Bon Secours International| Sisters of Bon Secours USA| Bon Secours Health System

This information does not replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise disclaims any warranty or liability for your use of this information. Your use of this information means that you agree to the Terms of Use. Privacy Policy. How this information was developed to help you make better health decisions.

© 1995-2010 Healthwise, Incorporated. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated.