Progression of cervical cancer

Picture of the stages of cervical cancer

Cervical cancer progresses from tissue on the surface of the cervix (early stage IB) to deeper tissue beside the cervix and uterus (stage IIB). If cervical cancer progresses beyond stage IIB and extends into the pelvic area and other areas of the body (metastasis), it is called stage III and stage IV cervical cancer.

Last Updated: September 5, 2008

Medical Review: Anne C. Poinier, MD - Internal Medicine & Kevin Holcomb, MD - Gynecologic Oncology

related physicians

related services

Bon Secours International| Sisters of Bon Secours USA| Bon Secours Health System

This information does not replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise disclaims any warranty or liability for your use of this information. Your use of this information means that you agree to the Terms of Use. Privacy Policy. How this information was developed to help you make better health decisions.

© 1995-2010 Healthwise, Incorporated. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated.